Scientific Management Commitee

Last updated: 25 Nov 2019

The working group coordinators (WGCs) and the scientific project manager (SPM) compose the scientific management commitee (SMC). You can read the minutes of their meetings.

In view of the transition to ICON, a document has been prepared concerning the adaptation of the SMC to the new organization. It is available here.

The WGCs


The WG coordinators will be responsible toward the Scientific Project Manager for:

In general, the Scientific Project Manager (SPM) is the executive manager of COSMO and the chairman of the Scientific Management Committee. He is responsible toward the Steering Committee for:

The WGCs and SPM formed the SMC in 2008. Before that, they were known as the "Scientific Advisory Committee" (SAC).

Currently, the SPM is ()
and the work groups and their coordinators:

The Scientific Project Managers
since 1999 are:

Dmitrii MironovDWD2017-
Michael ZiemianskiIMGW2012-2016
Marco ArpagausMCH2008-2011
Tiziana PaccagnellaARPA-E2003-2007
Guenther DomsDWD2000-2003
Jacques AmbuhlMeteoSwiss1999